Post Number 101: It’s A Poetry Give-Away!

Is there anything nicer than free poetry? Or a free book? Well, yes there is. There is indeed. Things that come to mind: Sudden world peace, or being head butted by a mountain lion, or winning the genetic lottery. But, free poetry is still very nice, wouldn’t you agree? ๐Ÿ™‚

This morning, I posted my 100th entry on this blog. Because 100 blog posts seems like a lot to me, I’d like to mark the occasion with a little give-away. I am giving away two copies of my chapbook the five parts of love: confabulating sappho, signed or unsigned whichever you prefer.

the five parts of love: confabulating sappho (chapbook)

All you have to do is leave a comment on this post, sharing the title and author of a book of poems you really enjoyed, and one or two sentences on what makes it so enjoyable. Whether you talk about Shakespeare or Dr.Seuss or a brand new writer does not make a difference — just share what you enjoyed reading. Easy, right? Just make sure to enter an email-address or a blog / website link in the form so I can contact you if you win, and post your comment by February 6th, 2013.

On February 07th,ย I will randomly pick two commenters’ names, so that hopefully, you’ll haveย the five parts of love in your physical mailbox by Valentine’s Day. ๐Ÿ™‚ This give-away is open to anyone, anywhere — it may take a little longer to get there if you’re outside the US.

P.S.: For those who don’t want to wait, the chapbook is available at Dancing Girl Press for 7 USD plus postage.

About annette.c.boehm

words escape me.

12 comments

  1. Hi there Elizabeth, there are 2 chapbooks I enjoyed recently , “How To Make Pink Confetti” by Tzynya Pinchback (also published by DGP) and “Like. Love. Hate” by A.D. Joyce

    • Hi StacyMichelle, ๐Ÿ™‚ thanks for commenting! Could you add in one or two sentences what you liked about either of these books? That way, other readers might become intrigued enough to want to check them out.

      • Sure! both chapbooks deal with love, loss & survival. “…Pink Confetti” is a mermaid’s confession, the poems have a fierce eloquence that has yet to leave me. “Like.Love.Hate” is a quartet of poems, the title poem exploring these emotions as condiments. I will never look at ketchup & mustard the same.
        hope this helps & I hope others check these books out.

  2. โ€ฆemotions as condiments?! That sounds brilliant. Iโ€™m going to have to look into that. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Hey,
    I’d like to nominate “I could pee on this – and other poems by cats” by Francesco Marciuliano. Finally, cats’ thoughts put into words! Every cat owner will be able to instantly relate to what those cats write about for example my favorite “Closed Door” found here http://imgur.com/nfitP5S.

  4. Corey

    Since you mentioned Seuss ๐Ÿ™‚ One quote that has often been of mind as of late:
    “Be who you are and say what you feel
    Because those who mind don’t matter
    And those who matter don’t mind.”

  5. I love your poems! Any chance you could link to a couple, from this chapbook or elsewhere, so that people who aren’t familiar with your work can get a taste of it when they follow the links here?

    • Charlie, ๐Ÿ™‚ thanks much, I’m glad you enjoy them. There actually are three poems linked on the “About” page, but maybe it would make sense to set up a page for that or add it to the sidebar. Thanks for the suggestion! Do you still write poetry? (fingers crossed) Because yours is pretty awesome.

      • I stopped writing poetry much when I started writing fiction seriously, feeling my talents worked better there. But now that my kids are grown and I feel less frantic about everything all the time I’m reading more of it again. Poetry requires (and then rewards) mental space for contemplation.

  6. I put the four names into a random decision maker and it picked C.C. and Daniel! Congratulations! I’ll put the books in the mail ASAP.

add your two cents!

