Fun from the Funnies (Get Fuzzy, Pearls before Swine, and Other Comments on Literary Life)

Some of my favorite comic strips have occasionally touched on books, writing, and poetry, much to my delight. Here are some of the ones I’ve collected over time. Enjoy! And if you do, consider supporting Darby Conley (Get Fuzzy) and Stephan Pastis (Pearls before Swine) by investing in a book. 🙂

Pearls before Swine and Dylan Thomas

This refers to one of my favorite poems. It makes me happy to think Pastis likes Dylan Thomas.

getfuzzy-badpoet

… I’ve yet to be called “Vogon-bad.”

get-fuzzy-flygazing

There much to be said for visceral poetry.

get-fuzzy revelation copy

…and I like green sleep.

toothpaste4dinner-911

This one’s from Toothpaste For Dinner: http://www.toothpastefordinner.com

get-fuzzy-haiku2

Never underestimate the short kid.

get-fuzzy-haiku

The eternal struggle: Trying to balance form and content.

get-fuzzy-reflection

Taking poetry literally can be lots of fun. Sometimes.

get fuzzy-poemizing

Now I’m thinking about literary beverages.

PBSWhitman

…if it’s sharpie, it wasn’t Mary Ruefle. 🙂

getfuzzy-grecian-urn

… Indeed.

get-fuzzy-pastoral

…Satchel takes his pastoral very seriously.

pearls-poetry

Rat’s definition of Poetry is… interesting.

getfuzzy-complete-poet

I must be doing something wrong. Where’s my pretty?

get-fuzzy-websterize

This is actually happening. Before I arrived here in MS, I had never heard of “signage” or “wordage” but here you can observe these exotic, novel creatures in the wild! Bucky also touches on one of the most wonderful features of the English language: its immense flexibility.

About annette.c.boehm

words escape me.

add your two cents!

